Posted by: monscartrux | April 14, 2009

Dear All,

Hey, my name is Dash Krehel and I am an Industrial Designer, or at least I’m trying to be one. This site exists to show off my work for my thesis project. For my thesis project I am designing a toy line made to increase imagination and interaction through customization.

One thing that I have become tired of seeing in the toy world is Spider Man toys, or Power Ranger toys. Not that I have any thing against Spider Man or the Power Rangers, I am just tired of seeing toys that say: This is who you are, what you do, what you look like, where you live, this is your enemy and what he looks like and blah blah blah. I feel this takes away from a childs most powerful play tools, their imagination.

That’s where My toy line (right now I am calling it Blank-bots) comes in. Blank-bots is a toy line where a blank robot would be sold as well as different add-on packs that could be mixed and matched, allowing the user to create their own robot, encouraging them to make their own story and world. Hopefully breaking the cycle of getting a child a toy that corresponds with their favorite TV show, so the kid can hold their toy while they watch TV, instead of having to think for themselves.

So I’ll load up some drawings soon and also a fun project for any takers!

Responses

  1. COOL!

  2. I REALLY like this!!! Great idea … great thinking behind the great idea! You go!

  3. Brilliant! I want one. All I had was HeMan and Matchbox Cars. This is truly thinking outside the box.

    Keep holdin’ it down for the Barths on the east coast.

    Andy

  4. Way to go Dash…I know your Mom is way proud of you… You definitely think outside the box which is what is really needed in this day and age…

  5. Hi Dash, I love your idea, I love the idea of individualization, how brilliant to incorporate that into a toy line, so very proud of you, I hope to see you soon, please continue to share your thoughts, Dash. Trust all is well with you, be safe, Dash, it is brillliant, go dear and enjoy!!!!!!!!!!! Pamela

  6. This is great. I am glad that part of the project is posting it on line. It is rewarding to keep up on what my family is doing, especially the creative stuff! Good Luck Dash!


Leave a Reply

Categories

